

RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNCIL LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the virtual meeting of the Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee held on Tuesday, 28 March 2023 at 1.00 pm.

This meeting was live streamed, details of which can be accessed here

County Borough Councillors - Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee Members in attendance:-

Councillor R Lewis (Chair)

Councillor G Stacey Councillor J Brencher Councillor S Evans

Officers in attendance:-

Miss N Morgan, Senior Manager of Governor Support and Emergency Planning

12 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillor S. Hickman.

13 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

RESOLVED – In accordance with the Members Code of Conduct, the following declaration of personal interests in a matter pertaining to the agenda was declared:-

County Borough Councillor G. Stacey in respect of agenda item 4 "I am a Governor at Ysgol Garth Olwg and I will leave the meeting when the item is discussed".

County Borough Councillor J. Brencher in respect of agenda item 4 "The Applicant is known to me".

County Borough Councillor S. Evans in respect of agenda item 4 "Three of the Applicants are known to me".

14 MINUTES

It was **RESOLVED** to approve the minutes of the 30th November 2022 as an accurate reflection of the meeting.

15 TO CONSIDER PASSING THE UNDER-MENTIONED RESOLUTION: -

"That the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the next item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 12 Schedule 12(A) of the Act."

16 APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In her report, the School Organisation and Governance Team Leader advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, two applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

Abernant Primary School	Mrs J Landeg	9 th July 2023
Brynnau Primary School	CBC J Turner	28th March 2023
Cymmer Primary School	Mrs J Lent	28th March 2023
Darran Park Primary	Mr R Maddox	28 th June 2023
School		
Gwaunmeisgyn Primary	Mrs J Clark	28th March 2023
School		
Hawthorn Primary	Mrs C Ward	28 th March 2023
Heol-Y-Celyn Primary	CBC L	28th March 2023
School	Tomkinson	
Parc Primary School	Mrs D Gale-	28th March 2023
	Smith	
Penywaun Primary	Mr J Woodward	28th March 2023
School		

Trealaw Primary School	CBC R W	28th March 2023
	Hughes	
YGG Llwyn Y Forwyn	CBC J Smith	28th March 2023
YGG Pont Sion Norton	Mr R Davies	9 th July 2023
Ysgol Ty Coch	Mr J Murphy	28th March 2023
Ysgol Ty Coch	Mr J Bridges	5 th May 2023
Ysgol Garth Olwg	CBC J Barton	1 st September 2023
Ysgol Garth Olwg	Mrs A Harden	1 st September 2023
Ysgol Garth Olwg	CBC G Stacey	1 st September 2023
Ysgol Garth Olwg	Mr R Butler	1 st September 2023
Treorchy Comprehensive	Mr P Russell	9 th July 2023
School		
Ysgol Gyfun Cwm	Mr P Harris	28th March 2023
Rhondda		
Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun	Mr M Jehu	28th March 2023

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter County Borough Councillor G. Stacey left the meeting for the Appointment of the Governors at Ysgol Garth Olwg).

This meeting closed at 1.28 pm

Councillor R Lewis CHAIR.